Ryukuan Fantasy for Band

From Wind Repertory Project
Yasuhide Ito

Yasuhide Ito

This work may also be found under the spelling Ryukyuan Fantasy.

General Info

Year: 1997 / 1998 / 2013
Duration: c. 4:50
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Two pianos eight hands
Publisher: Ito Music, through Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - 12,000 yen; (digital) - 12,000 yen   |   Score only (print) - 2,000 yen


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Clarinet
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Tuba (div.)
String Bass (div.)
Percussion (4 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongo
  • Cabasa
  • Conga
  • Cowbell
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Guiro
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (2)
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Wind Chime
  • Wood Blocks
  • Vibra-slap
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Originally sung in a slow cantabile style, this exciting musical arrangement, based on the Okinawan Folksong Asadoya Yunta, has an energetic rhythmic drive and momentum. The original version is for two pianos with eight hands and was commissioned by the Yo-gen-kai Association in March, 1997. It was premiered by the Okinawa Prefectural University of Arts professor Setsuko Iwasaki and her students.

Other arrangements include: 2 pianos for 4 hands, one piano for 4 hands, solo piano, violin and piano, soprano saxophone and piano, piano sextet, saxophone quartet, violin with saxophone quartet and piano, saxophone quintet and piano, saxophone quartet and piano, marimba sextet, and piano and wind orchestra.

The first band version was commissioned and premiered by Toshima-Ku Wind Orchestra conducted by Ito himself. It was featured composition in the January 1999 issue of Band Journal (the popular Japanese wind band monthly by ONGAKU NO TOMO SHA). Later, it was re-commissioned and re-orchestrated for the Hamamatsu Municipal High School Band conducted by Hideki Koshiba. Since the original version was composed for piano, its strongly percussive character must remain.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • York University (Toronto, Ont., Can.) Wind Symphony (Bill Thomas, conductor) – 5 December 2021
  • Plymouth State University (NH.) Symphonic Band (Michael Truong, conductor) - 29 October 2018
  • Hartwick College (Oneonta, N.Y.) Wind Ensemble (Andrew Pease, conductor) – 21 October 2017

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.