Runaway Circus Train

From Wind Repertory Project
Erik Morales

Erik Morales

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 3:45
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: FJH Music Co.
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00; (digital) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $11.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bell (brass)
  • Bells
  • Brake Drum
  • Cabasa
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Train Whistle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This highly programmatic work begins with an original waltz that sets a circus atmosphere. Soon after, the circus has packed up and the train begins to move to its next destination, but trouble looms in the distance and chaos ensues. Using two familiar melodies, this colorful work uses a myriad of clever effects as it juxtaposes circus music with impending disaster.

- Program Note adapted from publisher

Commissioned by the Louisiana Music Educators Association for the 2015 District XI Junior High Honor Band.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer