Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Royal Air Force March Past

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Walford Davies

Walford Davies (ed. Robert E. Foster)

General Info

Year: 1921 / 1998
Duration: c. 2:30
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $50.00   |   Score Only (print) - $9.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Crash Cymbals


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Davies was the organizing director of music for the Royal Air Force in 1918, the year that service was formed by the amalgamation of the Royal Flying Corps and the Royal Naval Air Service. The story of the RAF is one of famous and heroic pilots, a number of vital support services, and well-designed combat planes. This march, as originally composed by Davies, was premiered at Exmouth, Devon, in October 1918. The present and more rousing and melodious version was arranged by George Dyson (1883-1964), who succeeded Davies as the RAF music director in 1919.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Humboldt State University (Arcata, Calif.) Wind Ensemble (Paul Cummings, conductor) - 30 October 2021
  • U.S. Military Academy (West Point, N.Y.) Band (Tod Addison, conductor) – 21 January 2017

Works for Winds by This Composer