Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Romanza (Camphouse)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Mark Camphouse

Mark Camphouse

This work is the second movement of A Jack Stamp Suite.

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 5:50
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Neil A. Kjos Music Company
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $95.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Completion of my new book honoring the life and teaching of iconic Northwestern University Director of Bands John Paynter interrupted the normal flow of conceiving, organizing and orchestrating this new work. Sketched in early fall 2014 and orchestrated in mid-winter 2015, Romanza is dedicated to my dear friend and colleague Jack Stamp and his lovely wife LeAnn Stein.

The music is simple and direct in expression. I hope Romanza will fit in well as the slow espressivo movement of A Jack Stamp Suite. I also hope it will be worthy of standing alone as a short (six-minute) lyrical work for high school and college band concert programs.

Indiana University of Pennsylvania has been extremely fortunate to have had a man of Jack Stamp's artistic, educational and personal integrity on its faculty for many years. He has made significant contributions to our profession and has enriched the lives of countless students and concert-goers. I am confident his service in and leadership for our profession will continue to flourish in the years ahead. Thank you, Jack Stamp, and I wish you and LeAnn many years of happiness.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of North Texas (Denton) University Band (Ben Blasko, conductor) – 12 April 2017

Works for Winds by This Composer