Roma Sacra

From Wind Repertory Project
Luigi Zaninelli

Luigi Zaninelli

The title of this work translates from the Italian as "Sacred Rome."

General Info

Year: 2007
Duration: c. 6:15
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Productions
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $72.00  |   Score Only (print) - $18.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In 1951, at the age of 19, I first saw Rome. I was awe-struck by its beauty and grandeur. There is an aura of mystical magic which envelops me whenever I am there. At dawn, dusk, or by moonlight I sense the ghosts of the past. This work is inspired by these powerful feelings which have never ceased to haunt me.

- Program Note by composer

With the opening sound of distant church bells, we are drawn into a work inspired by the grandeur and magnificence of the Eternal City. Drawing from his Italian Catholic roots, Zaninelli demonstrates his unabashed love for Rome. It is quite easy to fall victim to the enchanting beauty of Roma Sacra, as it is an unending arch of melodic inspiration. For anyone who has even been moved by greatness or hoped to experience the power of past history, this musical journey cannot be overlooked.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works