Roger Zare

From Wind Repertory Project
Roger Zare


Roger Zare (b. 1985, Sarasota, Fla.) is an American composer.

Zare holds a DMA ('12) from the University of Michigan, where he has studied with Michael Daugherty, Paul Schoenfield, Bright Sheng, and Kristin Kuster. He holds degrees from the Peabody Conservatory (MM '09) and the University of Southern California (BM '07), and his previous teachers include Christopher Theofanidis, Derek Bermel, David Smooke, Donald Crockett, Tamar Diesendruck, Fredrick Lesemann, and Morten Lauridsen.

Dr. Zare has been praised for his “enviable grasp of orchestration” (New York Times) and for writing music with “formal clarity and an alluringly mercurial surface.” He has written for a wide variety of ensembles, from solo instruments to full orchestra. Often inspired by science, mathematics, literature, and mythology, his colorfully descriptive and energetic works have been performed in five continents by such ensembles as the American Composers Orchestra, the Minnesota Orchestra, the Sarasota Orchestra, the Australian-based Trio Anima Mundi, the Donald Sinta Quartet, and the New York Youth Symphony.

An award winning composer, Zare has received the ASCAP Nissim Prize, three BMI Student Composer Awards, an ASCAP Morton Gould award, a New York Youth Symphony First Music Commission, the 2008 American Composers Orchestra Underwood Commission, a 2010 Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and many other honors. He has been composer in residence at the Salt Bay Chamber Music Festival, the Chamber Music Festival of Lexington and currently serves with the SONAR new music ensemble.

Works for Winds

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Birdwell, John Cody. "Mare Tranquillitatus." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 10, Compiled and edited by Richard Miles, 431-437. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2015.
  • Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music. "Roger Zare." Accessed 18 March 2015
  • Pasquale, John D. "Aerodynamics." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 10, Compiled and edited by Richard Miles, 894-901. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2015.
  • Roger Zare website