From Wind Repertory Project
James Barnes

James Barnes

This work bears the designation Opus 157.

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 7:35
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Southern Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $80.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III (III optional)
Bass Trombone
String Bass (optional)
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Bold and bright, this substantial work for concert band provides serious musical material that is both resolute and impressive. Punctuated staccato rhythm figures propel the music forward, contrasting nicely with sustained and majestic melodies through the main portion of the work. A lush and flowing middle section presents an alternate style before a brisk and echoing recap finishes the piece in grand style.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works