Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Clifton Jameson Jones

Clifton Jameson Jones

General Info

Year: 2022
Duration: c. 4:00
Difficulty: II+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Unpublished
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


Full Score
Oboe (or Flute II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I
Trombone I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Marimba (optional)
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (optional)

(with numerous optional substitutions)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Rising is an original work for small high school bands or more advanced middle school bands. The title comes from the ‘rising’ melodic scale patterns introduced in the woodwinds. There is also a less obvious rising pattern of key areas: c minor - g minor - a minor - B-flat minor - c minor - E-flat major. It is written in a “fast-slow-fast” form, and virtually all of the melodic and motivic material is introduced within the first eight measures.

Rising was commissioned by the Association of Texas Small School Bands and was premiered by the 2022 ATSSB Concert Band, led by Dr. Caroline Beatty.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer