Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Rhapsody for Solo Clarinet and Band

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Patrick J. Burns

Patrick Burns

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 10:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bandworks Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $175.00; (digital) - $150.00   |   Score Only (print) - $30.00; (digital) - $20.00


Full Score
Solo B-flat Soprano Clarinet
C Piccolo
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Rhapsody for Solo Clarinet and Band consists of one large movement with three contiguous sections following a brief introduction: Comodo – Lirico – Meccanico. The character of each section is quite different, one from another, but so is the compositional style and harmonic vocabulary. Each movement explores various traits of the clarinet’s “personality”, if you will – and affords the soloist ample opportunity to be expressive in both highly technical and sweepingly lyric passages throughout virtually the entire range of the instrument. The ensemble itself maintains a very active role throughout, and is often on equal footing with the soloist in terms of the evolution of the piece.

Rhapsody for Solo Clarinet and Band was commissioned by the New Jersey City University Consortium for New Music, led by Professor Joseph D’Auguste, clarinet professor at NJCU. The premiere performances were given in November and December 2015 by the NJCU Symphony of Winds and Percussion under the direction of the composer and with Professor D’Auguste as soloist.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer