From Wind Repertory Project
Luboš Fišer

Luboš Fišer

Subtitle: For Winds, Six Percussion, and Piano

General Info

Year: 1971
Duration: c. 7:30
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Edition Peters
Cost: Score and Parts - $100.00   |   Score Only - $19.50


Full Score
Bassoon I-II-III-IV
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
C Trumpet I-II-III-IV-V
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV-V
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V-VI, including:

  • Campane (3)
  • Gong (2)
  • Gran Cassa
  • Piatti (due)
  • Tamburo Militare
  • Tamburo Rullante
  • Tom-Tom (2)
  • Triangolo


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Report has been described as “a powerful, impressive, and provocative piece ... a true masterwork and a mini-classic for the wind band.” Luboš Fišer composed the work while living amid the social, political, and military turmoil in Prague in 1968. It was premiered in Pittsburgh by the American Wind Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Robert A. Boudreau, in the summer of 1971. Fišer, who was composer in residence with the AWSO during 1971 and 1972, dedicated the work to Mr. and Mrs. D. C. Burnham.

Composed for a large ensemble with specific instrumentation, Report basically consists of a rhapsodic preamble followed by three marches. Fišer used only seven of the usual twelve available pitches for the opening trumpet solo and the nine variations (three in each march). The multi-episode work may be labeled a “theme and variations” piece or, if the theme and subsequent variations are called "A" and the march segments "B," the overall structure would be ABABAB. The two ideas are alternated, developed and finally combined in the third march, which features frenzied rhythms in the woodwinds, the original patriotic march tune in the trumpets, and a repetitive drum soli which suggests the events in Prague during August of 1968. Report ends with a series of seven tutti chords diminishing to silence.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Fišer, L. (1971). Report [score]. C.F. Peters Corp.: New York.
  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications, pp. 208.