Record Breaker (arr. Glover)

From Wind Repertory Project
C. L. Barnhouse

C. L. Barnhouse (arr. Andrew Glover)

Subtitle: Galop

General Info

Year: 1904 / 2020
Duration: c. 1:55
Difficulty: II-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $59.00   |   Score Only (print) - $8.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Trombone I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

American composer, cornetist, bandmaster, and music publisher C. L. Barnhouse (1865-1929) had a distinguished career in band music. He composed well over 100 works, including marches, galops, novelty music, waltzes, and cornet solos.

Record Breaker Galop was written in 1904 as part of a collection of music for small municipal bands. One can easily imagine a race taking place with this fast-faced and exciting music serving as an accompaniment.

For the Winterset, Iowa, Junior High School Band, Doug Gibson, conductor.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works