From Wind Repertory Project
Viet Cuong

Viet Cuong

General Info

Year: 2016 / 2018
Duration: c. 15:45
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Percussion quartet and chamber instruments
Publisher: Blue Dot Composer Collective
Cost: Score and Parts – Rental ($450-$560)   |   Score Only (print) - $85.00

Movements (may be played without pause)

1. Hydro – 4:30
2. Wind – 6:05
3. Solar – 5:05


Full Score
Flute I-II (both doubling Piccolo)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
String Bass

(percussion detail desired)

Solo Percussion Quartet, including:

  • Aerosol Cans
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle

Players hissing


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

I have tremendous respect for the renewable energy initiatives and the commitment to creating a new, better reality for us all. Re(new)al is a percussion quartet concerto that is similarly devoted to finding unexpected ways to breathe new life into traditional ideas, and the solo quartet therefore performs on several “found” instruments. And while the piece also features more traditional instruments, such as snare drum and vibraphone, I looked for ways to either alter their sounds or find new ways to play them. For instance, certain notes of the vibraphone are prepared with aluminum foil to recreate sounds found in electronic music. The entire piece was conceived this way, and it was a blast to discover all of these unique sounds with the members of Sandbox Percussion.

Cooperation and synergy are also core themes of the piece, as I believe we all have to work together to move forward. All of the music played by the solo quartet is comprised of single musical ideas that are evenly distributed between the four soloists (for those interested, the fancy musical term for this is a hocket). The music would therefore be dysfunctional without the presence and dedication of all four members.

Re(new)al is constructed of three continuous movements, each inspired by the transcendent power of hydro, wind, and solar energies. The original chamber work was commissioned for the 2017 American Music Festival by David Alan Miller and the Albany Symphony in partnership with GE Renewable Energy, and is dedicated to Sandbox Percussion.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Syzygy (Flex instrumentation) (2019/2020)

All Wind Works


  • Cuong, V. (2019). Re(new)al: Percussion Quartet Concerto: Wind Ensemble Version [score]. Viet Cuong: [United States].
  • The Horizon Leans Forward…, compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 304.
  • Viet Cuong website Accessed 12 December 2018