Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Rain and Snow on the Cedar Cliffs

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Ed Kiefer

Ed Kiefer

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 7:25
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $125.00; (digital) - $125.00   |   Score Only (print) - $12.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Commissioned by the A.C. Reynolds High School Band, Sean Smith, Director, in Honor of William and Janis Bryant.

- Program Note from score

This creative, commissioned work is based on two old Appalachian mountain tunes. The composition begins with an off-stage trumpet solo freely stating the beautiful yet haunting folk melody Rain and Snow. Clarinets and euphonium are then given the melody as the opening section builds to a powerful climax. A soft passage for upper woodwinds and low brass then reintroduces the off-stage trumpet stating a portion of the original melody. An abrupt tempo change and lively rhythmic figures stated initially by saxophones and brass introduces the familiar tune Old Joe Clark. Scored as a fantasy, this section features changing meters, a variety of attractive textures, and engaging lines of similar difficulty for each section. The opening melody returns during the final section, bringing the piece to a rousing conclusion.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • North Carolina: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist 70.8 (2016): 28. Print