From Wind Repertory Project
Alfred Reed

Alfred Reed

Subtitle: After James Joyce: A Rhapsody for Solo Bb Clarinet and Band

General Info

Year: 1966
Duration: c. 8:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Masters Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $70.00


Full Score
Solo B-flat Clarinet
Flute I-II-III (III doubling piccolo)
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
B-flat Cornet I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Basses (Tubas)
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Rahoon is a rhapsodic piece by American neoclassical composer Alfred Reed (1921-2005). It was commissioned by the University of Delaware for the clarinetist Eudgene F. Gonzales in 1965, and is notable for being very different in tone and technique from most of Reed’s other pieces. Reed writes this piece is “after James Joyce”. James Joyce (1882 - 1941) was an Irish novelist and poet, author of the well-known works Ulysses (1922), Dubliners (1916), A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man (1916), and Finnegan's Wake (1939). In 1913, Joyce composed a poem titled She Weeps Over Rahoon, which provided the inspiration for Reed's piece.

She Weeps Over Rahoon

Rain on Rahoon falls softly, softly falling
Where my dark lover lies.
Sad is his voice that calls me, sadly calling
At grey moonrise.

Love, hear though
How desolate the heart is, ever calling,
Ever unanswered – and the dark rain falling
Then as now.

Dark too our hearts, O love, shall lie, and cold
As his sad heart has lain
Under the moon-grey nettles, the black mould
And muttering rain.

Reed’s work encapsulates the haunting and saddened tone of this poem, a work written about the emptiness the narrator feels after her lover passes away. The solo clarinet rises above the band, the sad voice of the lover calling out from the grave, a desolate expression of loneliness which, fittingly, is unanswered. Behind the clarinet, the band sets the scene of the grey darkness, the horns pulsing the rain’s beat while the winds shine the dim moonlight, surrounding the narrator as she contemplates her new existence, empty of love.

- Program Note by Oscar Lewis


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Reed, A. (1965). Rahoon: After James Joyce: A Rhapsody for Solo Bb Clarinet and Band [score]. Piedmont Music: New York.