Quintette pour ensemble de saxophones

From Wind Repertory Project
Jérôme Savari

Jérôme Savari (ed. Paul Wehage)

General Info

Year: 1861 / 2013
Duration: c. 13:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Musik Fabrik
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $38.95


1. Allegretto
2. Andante misterioso
3. Allegretto - 3:36
4. Allegro - 2:34


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Saxophone I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Most of Savari's music is likely lost; however, many of his works for saxophone were published by Adolphe Sax between 1861 and 1862 in a collection of saxophone works that is part of the standard repertoire. These include arrangements for two to eight saxophonists, as well as works for saxophone and piano.

This Quintet is in four movements. The initial movement is in a typical sonata-allegro form; the second movement is a pastoral which uses elements of French folk music. The third movement is a waltz with interludes in the style of Tyrolian folk music. The final movement is a lively rondo.

- Program Note from publisher

à Monsieur le Colonel Alfred Cambriels.

- Program Note from score


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Texas (Austin) Wind Symphony (unconducted) – 5 April 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Savari, J.; Wehage, P. (2013). Quintette : pour quintette de saxophones SSATB [score]. Musik Fabrik: Lagny Sur Marne.
  • University of Texas Wind Symphony concert program, 5 April 2019