Quality Plus

From Wind Repertory Project
Fred Jewell

Fred Jewell (arr. Robert Longfield)

N.B. The title on the score is written "Quality-plus".

General Info

Year: 1913 / 1994
Duration: c. 2:45
Difficulty: III-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts - $55.00   |   Score Only - $7.00


Full Score
C Piccolo (optional)
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I
E-flat Alto Saxophone II/E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass (optional)
Timpani (optional)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Bells


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Quality Plus is an excellent example of the marches which were composed early in the twentieth century by circus musicians who were attempting to meet an ever-growing demand for original music. In addition to countless small units in the United States, there were ninety-eight touring shows which employed hundreds of people and required complete trains on which to travel. Many had bands with twenty to thirty-five musicians plus a side show band of ten to twenty more. During the morning street parades, presented to advertise the afternoon and evening circus performance, as many as sixty or seventy marches were performed in the big cities. Quality Plus became a perennial favorite.

- Program Note from March Music Notes


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Jewell, F.; Longfield, R. (1994). Quality Plus: March [score]. C.L. Barnhouse: Oskaloosa, Iowa.
  • Smith, Norman E. (1986). March Music Notes. Lake Charles, La.: Program Note Press, pp. 230-231.