Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Psalm 57

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Matthew C. Saunders

Matthew Saunders

General Info

Year: 2003
Duration: c. 5'00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Self-published
Cost: Score and Parts - $60.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
Flutes I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Eb Alto Saxophones I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
Eb Baritone Saxohpone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbals (crash and suspended)
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Tam-Tam (gong)
  • Tubular Bells (Chimes)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This work was composed in the Summer of 2003 in Elyria, Ohio, for the Lorain County Community College Civic Concert Band. Its form follows the text of The Holy Bible, Psalm 57, which includes the text, "I will sing and make music. Awake, my soul! Awake, harp and lyre! I will awaken the dawn." Like the Psalm, the composition is a cry for mercy in troubled times followed by a joyous celebration of praise.


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • November 2003, Elyria, Ohio - WORLD PREMIERE

Works for Winds by This Composer