Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Prelude in F Minor

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Nadia Boulanger

Nadia Boulanger (arr. Patrick Burns)

General Info

Year: 1911 / 2011
Duration: c. 5:35
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Organ
Publisher: Bandworks Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $80.00; (digital) - $70.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00; (digital) - $10.00<br


Full Score
C Piccolo
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Prelude in F Minor is the first movement of Boulanger's Trois Improvisations for organ, composed in 1911, and published in 1912. The music is pensive and reflective, and, at times, dramatic and highly expressive. Boulanger's conservative and lean writing is counterbalanced by her astonishing use of timbre throughout the piece. Colors change frequently and with great subtlety throughout the work, allowing each new musical phrase to be cast in a slightly different light. This technique moves Boulanger's economical musical ideas forward in an effective compositional way, and also enables the listener to maintain a high degree of interest for the duration of the work.

- Program Note from publisher

For Loras John Schissel and the Virginia Grand Military Band.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Eastern Illinois University (Charleston) Wind Symphony (Alicia Neal, conductor) - 24 February 2023
  • Columbus (Ohio) State Community College Concert Band (Thomas Lloyd, conductor) - 3 March 2020

Works for Winds by This Composer