Prelude and Double Fugue

From Wind Repertory Project
Fisher Tull

Fisher Tull

General Info

Year: 1979
Duration: c. 9:02
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Cost: Score and Parts - Rental

For further availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet (Cornet) I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion (5 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Prelude and Double Fugue was commissioned by Kappa Kappa Psi and Tau Beta Sigma, and premiered by the National Intercollegiate Band in 1979, during the National Convention at Georgia Tech University in Atlanta, Georgia.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Florida: VI
  • Louisiana: V
  • New York: Concert Band V
  • Oklahoma: V-A
  • Tennessee: VII
  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Girsberger, Russ. Percussion Assignments for Band & Wind Ensemble: Volume 2 L-Z. Meredith Music Publications, 2004, pp. 314.
  • Tull, F. (1979). Prelude and Double Fugue [score]. Boosey & Hawkes: New York.