Prayer and Procession

From Wind Repertory Project
Lee Hoiby

Lee Hoiby

Subtitle: Triple Concerto for Flute, Clarinet, English Horn and Wind Ensemble

This work bears the designation Opus 76.

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: c. 20:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Schott Music Group
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - Rental.


Full Score
Solo Flute
Solo Clarinet
Solo English Horn
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Long-time Hoiby collaborator Mark Shulgasser writes of the work:

In this work Lee Hoiby has developed just a small, insistent theme, really not much more than a rhythm, cheerful though in a minor key, into an expansive and formally impeccable sonata movement. The soloists spin a profusion of melodic episodes over, around and through the recurrent march motive, now apprehensive, now resolute, now skittish with delight and flashes of fancy. The unvarying, brisk tempo snatches them away, so the ear welcomes a classical repeat of the entire exposition. The development introduces new, climactic material, and during the receding coda one reflects on the variety of experience reverberating in the memory.

Composer Lee Hoiby adds:

Throughout the writing of this piece I kept thinking I wanted to slow down the tempo and have something like a chorale, but the beat wouldn't let go. Finally I realized that the chorale was supposed to be an introduction! The three soloists remind me of Picasso's Three Musicians. I like it that their ranges overlap significantly, so that they sometimes blend into a single instrument.

- Program Note from publisher

In one movement. Dedicated to Gregory Wolynec. The three solo instruments act as a unit throughout, playing in a homophonic fashion or extending each other's lines and melodies.

- Program Note from score


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer