Prayer & Canto

From Wind Repertory Project
Luigi Zaninelli

Luigi Zaninelli

General Info

Year: 2008
Duration: c. 9:10
Difficulty: III-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Publishers
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $85.00   |   Score Only (print) - $35.00


1. Prayer – 3:40
2. Canto


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
Solo B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Prayer and Canto is a lyric work in two parts. Both works are inspired by love -- the first “sacred” and the second “secular.”

In Prayer, plaintive melodic material creates a mystical atmosphere of gentle spirituality. The scoring, while at times transparent, gives way, often, to vibrant richness. A warm interlude joins Prayer to Canto. In Canto, modal melodies unfold over a compelling ostinato. The work grows steadily in polyphonic intensity culminating in an emotional ending of powerful nobility.

This work was commissioned by the University of Southern Mississippi Wind Symphony, Thomas V. Fraschillo, conductor.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works