Praetorius Variations

From Wind Repertory Project
Jim Curnow

James Curnow

General Info

Year: 1996
Duration: c. 12:30
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Curnow Music Press, through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $129.00   |   Score Only (print) - $25.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II (doubling English Horn)
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV

  • Bar Chimes
  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Mark Tree
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tom-Tom (2)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Praetorius Variations is a set of three expansive variations based on Lo, How A Rose E'er Blooming. All of the melodic and motivic material presented in these variations is taken from the main theme. After an introductory fanfare and prelude, which presents themes for each variation, the composition works its way through an energetic scherzo, a very intense yet introspective intermezzo and a driving rondo that concludes the piece with the only complete version of the main theme. With this recently composed large-scale composition, James Cumow pushes the wind ensemble to its limit in terms of technical and artistic difficulty.

- Program Note by William V. Johnson for the Cuesta Wind Ensemble concert program, 15 December 1996


State Ratings

  • Alabama: Class AA


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Curnow, J. (1996). Praetorius Variations: For Symphonic Winds and Percussion [score]. Curnow Music: Wilmore, Ky.