Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Point of Reckoning

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
David Gillingham

David Gillingham (arr. Nathan Daughtrey)

Subtitle: For Keyboard Percussion Ensemble

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 5:05
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: C. Alan Productions
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $48.00


Full Score
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum (optional)
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Marimba I-II-III-IV
  • Vibraphone I-II
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Originally composed for string orchestra, Nathan Daughtrey has scored Gillingham's powerful work for keyboard percussion ensemble. Inspired by the hymn O For a Thousands Tongues to Sing, Point of Reckoning begins quite frantically with sporadic motives from the hymn. Alternating passages of lyric beauty and rhythmic confusion follow with several dramatic presentations of the hymn tune.

- Program Note from publisher

Point of Reckoning seeks to define the particular moment in one's life when there is a realization of one's mortality and a force bigger than humankind that is all-knowing and ever-present. My Christian background has inspired the use of the hymn O For a Thousand Tongues to Sing ("Azmon"), words by Charles Wesley and music by Carl Glaser. The work begins quite frantically and in confusion with motives of the hymn occurring sporadically. The hymn emerges mysteriously, but is upstaged again by anger and confusion and culminates in ten hammered articulations of a strident sonority. A slow, lyrical section follows, again utilizing motives of the hymn within a texture of rich diatonic clusters. The tempo of the first section segues with the frantic confusion returning only to be overwhelmed by a dramatic presentation of the hymn by the 2nd violins and lower strings accompanied by a very rhythmic ostinato in the 1st violins. The work progresses to a joyous coda. Wesley's first and fourth verses of the hymn were a point of inspiration for this work:

O for a thousand tongues to sing
My dear Redeemer's praise,
The glories of my God and King,
The triumphs of His grace.

He speaks, and listening to His Voice,
New life the dead receive;
The mournful broken hearts rejoice,
The humble poor believe.

Originally composed for string orchestra, Nathan Daughtrey has scored Gillingham's powerful work for keyboard percussion ensemble.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

  • Texas: Percussion Ensemble Class I


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Tomball (Tx.) High School Memorial Wind Symphony (Chris King, conductor) – 7 February 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works