Plus Ultra

From Wind Repertory Project
Daisuke Shimizu

Daisuke Shimizu

Subtitle: Dance Celebration for Wind Orchestra

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 8:40
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Brain Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $145.00; (digital) - $145.00   |   Score Only (print) - $40.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongo
  • Castanets
  • Conga
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Toms (4)
  • Tubular Bells
  • Whip
  • Wind Chime
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

"Plus Ultra" means “further beyond” in Latin. The composer strongly asserts the sentiment that a bright future awaits by overcoming adversity and continuing to advance.

After a stirring introduction, the piece refocuses towards a mysterious chorale, then becoming rhythmic within irregular time, a refined melody and extended theme coexist, building in excitement to a profound and powerful impact. Subsequently, a grand melody suggests a finale, but the prior rhythmic element returns for the piece’s climax and conclusion.

Plus Ultra was commissioned by Aozora Harmony Wind Orchestra (Saitama, Japan) for its 10th anniversary, completed in March of 2018.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer