Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jess Kady

Jess Kady

General Info

Year: 1990
Duration: c. 7:05
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Jess Kady
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Bass Trombone
Electric Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Claves
  • Drum Set
  • Egg Shaker
  • Gong
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Pixels was envisioned to be an expression of the “information overload” that comes from the Internet, and largely from streamed video. The intent is to take the listener on a high-energy ride from start to finish, which is assisted by the inclusion of electric bass and a dedicated drum set. The beginning of the piece is mysterious and questioning, but quickly forms into a rattling groove. The underpinning grooves presented in the first sections are often rephrased and combined with different overarching melodies, reaching similar high points before rebuilding. After a pensive soprano saxophone solo, the energy is rebuilt and flourishes into a massive grand finale.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Jess Kady, personal correspondence, March 2018
  • Jess Kady website Accessed 20 March 2018
  • Pacific Lutheran University Wind Ensemble concert program, 11 March 2018