From Wind Repertory Project
Ferrer Ferran

Ferrer Ferran

General Info

Year: 2007
Duration: c. 25:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ibermerica, through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $552.00   |   Score Only (print) - $86.00


1. Pinocchio, Geppetto and the Talking Cricket - 6:15
2. The Fairy with Turquoise Hair - 7:40
3. The Field of Miracles - 5:35
4. The Land of Toys. The Terrible Dogfish. Finally He Becomes a Boy. - 7:15


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Flugelhorn I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bamboo Chime
  • Bass Drum
  • Bongo
  • Conga
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Crotales
  • Derbuka
  • Djembe
  • Glockenspiel
  • Jingle Bells
  • Marimba
  • Mark Tree
  • Quijada
  • Rainstick
  • Sandpaper Blocks
  • Shequere
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Thundersheet
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Whip
  • Wind Machine
  • Woodblock
  • Wood Board
  • Wood Tree
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Adventures of Pinocchio is a classic of the literature, created by Carlo Callodi. In this symphonic suite Pinocchio, Ferrer Ferran describes this fantastic story in a suite format, trying to bring to the imagination all the adventures, the exploits, the feats, the mischief, the feeling, the sweet heart that shows this nice personage that accompanied by the daydream, the imagination and of all the personages that wrap to Pinocchio, they give life to this puppet that achieves to be become boy upon showing that he is pure and kind.

The Adventures of Pinocchio has been interpreted fromdifferent points of view. Some have believed to see in this work a political demand; other tried to see in it a criticism against the authoritarian educational systems. Benedetto Croce said that: "The wood that is carved Pinocchio is the humanity... Pinocchio is the fable of the human life; of good and of evil, of the errors and of the repentance, of the desire to yield to temptations, to the comfort, to the whims, and to resist and to be withdrawn and to be raised again, of the bewilderment and of the prudence, of the egotistical impulses and of the altruists and generous."

A rich score full color, in nice playful, and clean details, dramatics for moments and impassioned, sweet and melancholy, and that accompanied by some appointments in the shape of description will do the interpreter an understanding of the development and, of course, a better interpretation.

This composition is dedicated to: “... all the children that need this "magic" so that live hopefully and they be very happy".

Commissioned of the City Hall of Valencia to be a required work in the Section of Honor of the International Contest of Bands of Music "Ciutat of Valencia" in the year 2008.

- Program note by publisher

The suite consists of four movements, each accompanied by a short text for a better understanding of the development and therefore a better performance:

I. Pinocchio, Geppetto and the Talking Cricket. Once upon a time, a kind old woodcarver named Geppetto carved a new wooden puppet. But not just any new puppet; a puppet like no other. This is the way the story of Pinocchio begins. Pinocchio talks and is able to move on his own. He is a puppet with a loving heart and feelings. Pinocchio is a lively, happy-go-lucky puppet boy with a simple wish: to become a real boy. His youthful innocence gets him involved in all kinds of astonishing adventures. The talking cricket, his guardian angel and conscience, keeps a watchful eye on him.

II. The fairy with turquoise hair protects Pinocchio. Pinocchio is upset. He’s always drawn into frightening adventures. But the fairy is always by his side. Pinocchio thinks of his father. He misses him very much. Unfortunately, he hasn’t learnt his lesson well enough. His friends again tempt him into making the wrong choices. And the fairy rescues him once more. The turquoise fairy is so kind to him that he would wish her to be his beloved mother. Pinocchio regrets what he has done. He is not a bad boy, but temptation easily overrides his good intentions. Feeling sorry for him, the fairy helps him and forgives him.

III. The Field of Miracles. As Pinocchio hurries homewards, he meets a fox and a cat. The two malevolent scoundrels hatch a plot, telling Pinocchio that if he plants his gold coins in the Field of Miracles, they will grow into a money tree. Off they all go to the Field of Miracles. Pinocchio is greatly frightened. Two bandits try to rob him and to murder him. He escapes with the assistance of the fairy, and promises her to study and to behave himself. The fairy promises him that, on the morrow, he will cease to be a marionette and become a boy. A queer sound can be heard, soft as a little bell, and muffled like the buzz of a trumpet. A wagon arrives. It is drawn by twelve pairs of donkeys. Once more Pinocchio is tempted by his best friend, Lampwick, into accompanying him to the Land of Toys. He agrees, forgetting all promises to the fairy.

IV. The Land of Toys. The Terrible Dogfish. Finally He Becomes a Boy. This great land is entirely different from any other place in the world. It is a beautiful land; a land full of light. It is composed entirely of boys. In the streets, there is such joy, such a racket. All the boys are playing. Some boys laugh, shout for joy, whistle with happiness. The squares are filled with canvas theatres, huge carousel horses and big wheels. Within a short while, Pinocchio has become a donkey. He is thrown into the sea. When the fairy sees Pinocchio is about to drown, she sends a shoal of big fish to eat away all the donkey flesh. They naturally come to the bones — or rather, in this case, to the wood. Happy to be a wooden puppet again, Pinocchio swims as hard as he can toward a white rock. High on this rock stands a little goat beckoning to the marionette to come to her. He is almost halfway over, when suddenly a sea monsters sticks its horrible head out of the water, showing three rows of gleaming teeth. Pinocchio swims faster and faster. Alas! He is swallowed by the terrible dogfish. Wandering through the stomach of the dogfish, he finally meets his beloved father. “Oh, father, dear father! Have I found you at last? How I shall never, never leave you again!” Pinocchio and Geppetto try to run out of the dogfish’s mouth and dive into the sea, but they fail. They finally succeed in escaping on their second attempt. Lifting Geppetto onto his shoulders, Pinocchio swims swiftly away. They reach land as soon as possible. After saving his father and behaving like a good by, Pinocchio is rewarded. He dreams of his dear fairy, and wishes she would forgive him his mischief. At that very moment, Pinocchio awakes and opens wide his eyes. He sees that he is no longer a marionette, but that he has become a real boy!

- Program note by Santa Barbara City College Concert Band concert program, 12 May 2013


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Sonatur (Flex instrumentation) (2016)

All Wind Works