Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Pines of the Appian Way (ed Leidzen)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Ottorino Respighi

Ottorino Respighi (arr. Antonio d'Elia; ed. Erik Leidzén )

This work is the fourth movement of Respighi's The Pines of Rome.

General Info

Year: 1924 / 1948
Duration: c. 5:50
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ricordi, through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $80.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.50

For further availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Full Score
D-flat Piccolo
C Piccolo
English Horn
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Of the four sections of Respighi’s Pines of Rome, the last, the Pines of the Apian Way, is frequently performed separately. The preface to the orchestral scores gives the following description of this section:

"Misty dawn on the Apian Way. The tragic country is guarded by solitary pines. Indistinctly, incessantly, the rhythms of innumerable steps. To the poet’s fantasy appears a vision of past glories; trumpets blare and the army of the Consul advances brilliantly in the grandeur of the newly risen sun, toward the Sacred Way, mounting in triumph the Capitoline Hill."

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music


State Ratings

  • Alabama: Class AA
  • Florida: V
  • Georgia: VI
  • Iowa: V
  • Maryland: V
  • Michigan: Senior High AA
  • South Carolina: VI
  • Tennessee: VI
  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer