Pines of the Appian Way (arr Story)

From Wind Repertory Project
Ottorino Respighi

Ottorino Respighi (arr. Michael Story)

Subtitle: From Pines of Rome

General Info

Year: 1924 / 2022
Duration: c. 2:25
Difficulty: II-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Alfred Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $58.00; (digital) - $62.10   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


  • Full Score
  • Flute
  • Oboe
  • Bassoon
  • E-flat Soprano Clarinet
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone
  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • B-flat Trumpet I-II
  • Horn in F
  • Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • Piano (accompaniment)
  • Timpani
  • Percussion I-II-III, including:
*Bass Drum
*Crash Cymbals
*Snare Drum
*Suspended Cymbal


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Of the four sections of Respighi’s Pines of Rome, the last, the Pines of the Apian Way, is frequently performed separately. The preface to the orchestral scores gives the following description of this section:

"Misty dawn on the Apian Way. The tragic country is guarded by solitary pines. Indistinctly, incessantly, the rhythms of innumerable steps. To the poet’s fantasy appears a vision of past glories; trumpets blare and the army of the Consul advances brilliantly in the grandeur of the newly risen sun, toward the Sacred Way, mounting in triumph the Capitoline Hill."

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer