Perpetuum Mobile (arr. Niese)

From Wind Repertory Project
Johann Strauss Jr

Johann Strauss Jr (arr. Roger Niese)

Subtitle: A Musical Jest

General Info

Year: 1861 / 2010
Duration: c. 3:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Baton Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $105.00   |   Score Only - $22.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
Solo B-flat Soprano Clarinet (one player)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Glockenspiel
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Johann Strauss, Jr., composed a great number of polkas, mazurkas and marches to perform with his own orchestra that played on "dance soirees" in Vienna. When the industrial age dawned in the middle of the 19th century, the phenomenon of perpetual motion again began to attract a lot of attention. In 1861 Strauss composed on this theme his Perpetuum Mobile, subtitled "A Musical Jest".

- Program Note by publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Cleveland (Ohio) Youth Wind Symphony Group I (unconducted) – 1 May 2022

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


None discovered thus far.