Passage (Rusnak)

From Wind Repertory Project
Christina Rusnak

Christina Rusnak

General Info

Year: 2006 / 2019
Duration: c. 13:20
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano
Publisher: Rusnak Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $190.00; (digital) - $75.00 | Score Only (print) - $150.00; (digital) - $50.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • High Hat
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Passage was composed without an external impetus. A single-movement work, the piece is derived, somewhat organically, from the original musical material itself. Interestingly, the listener does not hear the original motive until two minutes into the piece.

Initially written for piano in 2006, Passage was like a caterpillar destined to emerge as a butterfly. As I began work on its transformation, two additional melodic motives emerged, which interweaved into a two-minute prelude. These elements assert themselves as secondary motives throughout the piece. Passage in full colorful form for symphonic wind band remains true to the original piano version, while fleshing out its musical elements, explored through the instrumental palette.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works