Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Pasiphae Verses

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Adam Roberts

Adam Roberts

Subtitle: For 10 Wind Instruments

General Info

Year: 2012
Duration: c. 12:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Adam Roberts
Cost: Score and Parts - Contact Adam Roberts


Full Score
Flute I-II (I doubling Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
Bassoon I-II
Horn in F I-II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Though the work is a single movement, it contains music of many characters and moods. It was my intention to create a piece that is both organic and surprising; to this effect the piece generally progresses from one state to another in a fairly seamless manner; nonetheless, some parts are radically different from others from the global view. I believe my use of microtones reflects my living in Istanbul. The opening melody, while not a quotation of anything I know, is influenced by Istanbul's musical environment, which is fraught with microtonal sounds.

Pasiphae Verses was commissioned by the Tanglewood Music Center, with the generous support of the Merwin Geffen, M.D. and Norman Soloman, M.D. New Commissions Fund.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Boston (Mass.) Conservatory Wind Ensemble (Kelly Corcoran, conductor) – 4 May 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Adam Roberts website Accessed 16 September 2016
  • Roberts, A. [2012?]. Pasiphae verses : For 2 Flutes (1 Doubling Piccolo), 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 Bassoons, and 2 Horns [score]. [Adam Roberts}: United States.