Partita in E-flat (Krommer)

From Wind Repertory Project
Franz Krommer

Franz Krommer (ed. Jan Joris Nieuwenhuis)

Subtitle: With 2 solo-horns

This work bears the designation FVK 2d

General Info

Year: 1806 / 1988
Duration: c. 21:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Edition Comusec
Cost: Score and Parts - €27.09


1. Allegro
2. Adagio - 7:55
3. Allegro - 4:35


Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
Clarinet I-II
Horn in F
String Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Krommer Partita in E-flat draws on the eighteenth century tradition of harmoniemusik. These bands usually consisted of pairs of oboes, clarinets, horns, and bassoons. In Central Europe, during the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries, it was customary for aristocrats to employ harmoniemusik to provide music for a wide range of social occasions.

This partita is somewhat unusual, as it is a concerto for two horns accompanied by pairs of oboes, clarinets, and bassoons and a double bass. Little is known about the circumstances of the composition of this partita. However, the horn parts would have been incredibly demanding on the natural horns used in the 18th century because the partita was almost certainly composed before the invention of the valve horn in 1818.

Krommer must have known or been asked to compose for virtuosic musicians. During the 1790s, Krommer worked as kappellmeister and composer for Prince Antal Grassalkovich de Gyarak, an aristocrat in Bratislava, who employed excellent musicians in his household.

During the 18th century, "partita" indicated a multi-movement instrumental work. This piece opens with a lively Allegro. The Adagio that follows provides a more stately contrast. The final movement is a bright Allegro: Rondo. The two horn players are featured throughout the work.

- Program Note by Katherine Brucher for the DePaul University Wind Ensemble concert program, 6 February 2022

This piece is actually a concerto for two solo French horns -- the other voices in the ensemble provide accompaniment.

- Program Note by Jan Joris Nieuwenhuis


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • DePaul University (Chicago, Ill.) Wind Ensemble (Cliff Colnot, conductor) - 6 February 2022

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Cliff Colnot, personal correspondence, February 2022