Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Overture Romantique

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Claude T. Smith

Claude T. Smith

General Info

Year: 1971
Duration: c. 9:45
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Claude T. Smith Publications, Inc., through C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts - $85.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals
  • Timbales
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Overture Romantique begins with a pounding ostinato of low brass and timpani, which then accompanies a short, dramatic introduction of the thematic material, which then lends itself to an Adagio. The Allegro propels the band into a rousing section of woodwind runs, multiple meter changes and a transitional fanfare. The center section of the piece features an ostinato in 3/2, with alternating sections in 4/2 and 5/2. An appearance by the transitional fanfare is played, and music previously stated returns. One final hearing of the first theme, which leads to a marvelous Eb major chord, features the ostinato and the trombones stating the opening music one more time. One of Smith’s first virtuoso efforts for the concert band.

- Program Notes from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


None discovered thus far.