Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Overture 1812

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Peter I Tchaikovsky

Pytor Ilyich Tschaikowsky (arr. Michael Story and Robert W. Smith)

General Info

Year: 1882 / 2012
Duration: c. 2:05
Difficulty: II (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Alfred Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $60.00; (digital) - $60.00   |   Score Only (print) - $9.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Piano/Keyboard (optional)
Timpani (optional)
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Overture 1812 is one of the most widely recognizable works in all of music. The bold musical statement was composed in 1880 to commemorate the Russian victory over Napoleon's army in 1812. Carefully scored, this rendition is a perfect fit for the end of the second year of band instruction. As with the original, the characteristic melody builds to the dramatic and triumphant finale.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Washtenaw International High School (Ypsilanti, Mich.) Symphonic Band (Akash Watsa, conductor) - 8 November 2022

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works