Once More Unto the Breach

From Wind Repertory Project
Stephen Melillo

Stephen Melillo

General Info

Year: 2004
Duration: c. 11:55
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Stormworks
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $140.00   |   Score Only (print) - $45.00


1. At the Speed of Dark – 3:30
2. I Shall Hear in Heaven – 4:00
3. The Gathering Storm… Once More Unto the Breach! – 4:30


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III
Trombone I
Trombone II/Euphonium
Bass Trombone
PAD Bass
Harp & Chorus
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Shakers
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam (large)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The last words of Ludwig van Beethoven were, "I shall hear in heaven". This piece is ever so humbly dedicated to him.

What? With so much of his own music and so much history and so many books and concerts forever played in his behalf, how can this humble piece be offered?

William Shakespeare in Henry V, summed it in the St. Crispen's Day speech. This piece is dedicated to those of us who look to the forever stalwart, past and present. In them, we find the courage to face the insurmountable again and again, as we, like them, go Once More... Unto the Breach!

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by the Hinsdale Township, Illinois, High School District 86 Bands, Jeffrey Waggoner and Paul Kimpton, directors.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer