On Eagle's Wings

From Wind Repertory Project
Robert W. Smith

Robert W. Smith

Subtitle: Our Citizen Airmen

General Info

Year: 1999
Duration: c. 3:50
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $87.00; (digital) - $87.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Very Olympian in quality, this striking piece was composed for the U.S. Air Force Reserve. It takes off with a strong fanfare over bold timpani strokes. Breaking quickly into a driving tempo, a flashing snare drum is joined by heroic brass motives followed by the full band. A contrasting flowing section actually never loses tempo or drive, and a return of the snare/brass statement pulls the rest of the band to a satisfying close.

- Program Note adapted from publisher

Commissioned by Captain N. Alan Clark and the Band of the U.S. Air Force Reserve in Celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the U.S. Air Force Reserve.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Georgia: V
  • South Carolina: IV


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works