Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Olympic Celebration, An

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert Buckley

Robert Buckley

General Info

Year: 2007
Duration: c. 7:10
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Fentone Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $159.00   |   Score Only (print) - $30.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

An Olympic Celebration is a tribute to the pursuit of excellence and the triumph of the human spirit. This piece was commissioned by The West Vancouver Youth Band for the build up to the 2010 Winter Olympics.

The initial “festive fanfare”, based on open fifths moving in contrary motion, brings the athletes out into the arena. This leads to the “parade of the athletes” theme. Then comes the establishment of the “heroic theme” in the woodwinds and horns -- moving through different sections -- until the transition, with an alto saxophone solo and an oboe solo, leading into the “flashback” section.

Here we go into the minds of the athletes and the internal and physical struggles that have brought them to this place. The melody is epic; rich in feeling and full of heart. This moves through various moods until the introduction of the “challenge” theme; a theme stated by the horns and trombones, which passes through the different sections of the band. A restatement of the “flashback” theme, this time triumphant, takes us to a final fanfare of celebration and jubilation.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works