Of Monsters and Men

From Wind Repertory Project
Randall Standridge

Randall Standridge

Subtitle: Three Scenes from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 3:55
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Wingert Jones
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $52.00; (digital) - $52.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Synthesizer (optional)
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • China Cymbals
  • Concert Toms (2)
  • Crash Cymbal (suspended)
  • Ride Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

A thrilling adaptation for concert band. Inspired by three scenes from the story, listeners are transported from the frigid arctic wasteland to eerie nighttime graveyards and the laboratory where the monster is created. Styled after Gothic soundtracks of classic horror movies, the music creates a pulse-racing drama with the suspense growing into a terrifying climax.

- Program Note from publisher

Mary Shelley published Frankenstein, or The Modern Prometheus in 1818. It has since become a literary staple and the inspiration for numerous adaptations. The story of Doctor Frankenstein’s descent into obsession and regret, and the duality of horror and sympathy that his monster inspires, has stood the test of time.

Inspired by three scenes from the book, the work opens, as the novel does, in the Arctic wastelands. A group of sailors find Victor Frankenstein, mad and almost dead, roaming the icy wastes. He tells them his horrific tale, and during this section the monster’s theme is first heard. The scene then shifts to the graveyards where Dr. Frankenstein finds the pieces for his creature, the music reflecting his glee and obsession as he sneaks through the night, building the creature in his laboratory. At last, the creature’s heartbeat is heard as it springs to terrible life. In the final scene, the monster visits Frankenstein on his wedding night to wreak his vengeance. The piece races to its end as Frankenstein searches the grounds of his manor, catching glimpses of the creature, before finally finding the lifeless body of his bride with the monster standing over her, triumphant.

- Program Note by composer

Dedicated to the directors and students of the East Central Oklahoma Band Directors Association.

Sections are In the Arctic Wastes, Graveyards and Laboratories, It's Alive! and Wedding Night and the Hunt.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works