Octet Partita in F major, Opus 57

From Wind Repertory Project
Franz Krommer

Franz Krommer (ed. Roger Hellyer)

This work may also be found under the titles Harmonie in F major, Partita-Octet, op. 57, and Partita in F major, Opus 57.

General Info

Year: 1808 / 1987 / 2000
Duration: c. 18:15
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Breitkopf & Haertel
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $40.00


1. Allegro vivace – 5:10
2. Minuetto: Presto – 4:00
3. Adagio: Andante cantabile – 4:25
4. Alla polacca – 4:25


Full Score
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
Contrabassoon (optional)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
Horn in F I-II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Franz Krommer (1759-1831) was a Czech composer during the turn of the 19th century. For the majority of his career Krommer lived in Vienna, first holding the position of music director at the Court Ballet, then working for Emperor Franz I and lastly being appointed director of chamber music and court composer. While serving in this position, Krommer became very prolific in chamber works.

Krommer wrote several collections of string quartets and quintets, rivaling Beethoven's chamber works, as well as chamber pieces for wind instruments. In the late eighteenth century, the concept of the wind band, or harmoniemusik, was born. Viennese aristocrats hired professional wind players (oboes, clarinets, bassoons, horns) in order for this unique form of musical entertainment.

In response to the Viennese requests for more wind band literature, Krommer composed several collections for chamber ensemble, including 13 octet partitas. In 1806, Krommer composed his first octet-partita, also known as Harmonie, Op. 57 in F major, divided into four contrasting movements.

After the first collection was published, Krommer's octets became highly sought after within the Viennese court music community. Krommer's unique style combined the simplicity and formal structure of the gallant tradition with hints of Romantic elements. Krommer used his "idiomatic writing" to smoothly intersperse each instrumental voice. Krommer's style is characterized by "repeated passages with great inventiveness, staccato arpeggios figures, scoring in extreme registers, and difficult passages requiring virtuoso performance". Krommer's innovations, use of tone colors, and creation of musical effects all served as stepping stones in order to bridge the gap between Classical tradition and new Romantic ideas.

- Program Note from Fandom


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer