Octet Partita

From Wind Repertory Project
Franz Krommer

Franz Krommer (ed. McAlister)

Subtitle: For 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 Horns, 2 Bassoons and Contrabassoon ad. lib.

This work bears the designation Opus 69.

General Info

Year: c. 1800 / 2003
Duration: c. 18:35
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: LudwigMasters Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $24.95   |   Score Only (print) - $7.95


1. Allegro – 7:35
2. Andante Cantabile – 4:30
3. Menuetto: Allegretto – 3:00
4. Rondo Allegretto - 4:30


Full Score
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
Contrabassoon (ad lib.)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
Horn in F I-II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Several of Krommer’s partitas (multi-movement works written for Harmonie, often containing four movements and employing classical forms), are considered cornerstones of the chamber wind repertoire. His Opus 69 in E-flat major is no exception. Through holding several small music director positions including bandmaster of the Károly regiment, Krommer gained an experienced awareness of the virtuosity and capabilities of wind instruments, which he artfully employed in his scoring. Opus 69 diverges from other Harmoniemusik of the period due to the addition of an optional ninth player that reinforces the bass line carried by bassoons.

Opus 69, which follows a symphonic outline of cheerful, slow, dance-like, and energetic characters across movements, is a light and charming classic in the chamber wind repertory.

- Program Note from Eastman School of Music Wind Orchestra concert program, 2 November 2020


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Eastman School of Music (Rochester, N.Y.) Wind Orchestra (Mark Davis Scatterday, conductor) – 2 November 2020
  • Central Michigan University (Mount Pleasant) Chamber Winds (Ryan Ramsey, conductor) – 2 March 2017
  • University of Central Missouri (Warrensburg) Chamber Winds (Kirsten Arpin, conductor) - October 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Krommer, F.; Hellyer, R. (1970). Octet-Partita Op. 69 : For 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 Horns, 2 Bassoons and Contrabassoon Ad. Lib [score]. Musica Rara: London.