Ocho Miniaturas para Pequeña Banda

From Wind Repertory Project
Juan Antonio Cuéllar

Juan Antonio Cuéllar

General Info

Year: 1997
Duration: c. 9:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ministerio de Cultura Colombiana
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


1. Andante
2. Marcato grazioso 3. Allegro
4. Scherzando
5. Sostenuto
6. Rápido


B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Trombone I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In the score, the Colombian Minister of Culture in 1997 (the year of the composition) remarks that Ocho Miniaturas para Pequeña Banda (Eight Miniatures for Small Band) is a commission for the “Francisco de Paula Santander” Scholarship in 1993, a project that incentivized composers to write for different instrumentations and be published by the Colombian government.

Ocho Miniaturas para Pequeña Banda are separate pieces that were conceived as a cycle, to be performed together as a suite with small pauses between each miniature. From the point of view of the musical materials, there are notable elements from the popular tradition of Colombian music, although these elements are dramatically transformed, constituting the essence of the piece. The instrumentation calls for ten wind players and three percussionists.

- Program Note by Sebastian Serrano-Ayala


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Cincinnati (Ohio) Conservatory of Music Chamber Ensemble (Sebastian Serrano-Ayala, conductor) - April 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer