Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Nostalgic Dances

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Luigi Zaninelli

Luigi Zaninelli

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 9:00
Difficulty: IV 1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C Alan
Cost: Score and Parts - $140.00   |   Score Only - $40.00


1. Autumn Foxtrot - 3:20
2. Midnight Waltz - 3:05
3. Falcon Polka - 2:25


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Vibraphone
  • Woodblock
  • Xylophone

Piano (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Dedicated to Donald James Lefevre and the West Texas A&M University Symphonic Band, these three dances -- Autumn Foxtrot; Midnight Waltz and Falcon Polka -- were inspired by the experiences Zaninelli had as a pianist during the second world war.

-Program Note from publisher

Luigi Zaninelli composed this work as a musical memory of his playing in small dance orchestras during World War II. He was called upon to play a wide variety of dance forms and these are reflected in this composition.

- Program Note from Tara Winds concert program, 19 December 2015


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Zaninelli, L. (2014). Nostalgic Dances: For Concert Band [score]. C. Alan Publications: Greensboro, N.C.