Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Nonet for Chamber Winds

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Walter Hartley

Walter Hartley

This work bears the designation Opus 273. Title varies.

General Info

Year: 2005
Duration: c. 6:30
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Manuscript (possibly Prairie Dawg Press)
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet
Horn in F


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Nonet for Winds is a chamber piece scored for flute, oboe, clarinet, saxophone, bassoon, trumpet, horn, trombone and tuba. It is a one-movement work with four distinct tempi; adagio, allegro, andante and a vigorous 6/8 allegro, all lasting about six minutes.

Dr. Hartley comments, “The nine soloists set up a variety of contrapuntal textures which, from time to time, coalesce into homophonic and/or unisonic passages. There may be heard resemblances, especially in the treatment of motives, to some of my previous wind works, such as the Concerto for 23 Winds. "

- Program Note from CBDNA Report


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer