Noche Triste

From Wind Repertory Project
Jess Langston Turner

Jess Langston Turner

General Info

Year: 2013
Duration: c. 8:45
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Murphy Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $175.00   |   Score Only (print) - $30.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IB
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Anvil or Brake Drum
  • Bongos
  • Chimes
  • Claves
  • Crotales
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gourd Shaker
  • Maracas
  • Marimba
  • Mark Tree
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tenor Drum
  • Tom-Toms (4)
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Wood Block
  • Wood Plank
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

La Noche Triste (“The Night of Sorrows”), on June 30, 1520, was an important event during the Spanish conquest of Mexico, wherein Hernán Cortés and his army of Spanish conquistadors and native allies fought their way out of the Mexican capital at Tenochtitlán following the death of the Aztec king Montezuma II, who had been held hostage by the Spaniards. The Aztecs killed many of the conquistadors (most of whom were burdened down with treasure taken from the city) as they fled across the causeway that linked Tenochtitlán with the mainland.

Noche Triste paints a vivid musical portrait of the event, from the nocturnal sounds of the surrounding jungle, to the flight of the Spaniards and battle with the Aztecs, to the sense of grief and loss following the incident.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Delaware (Newark) Symphonic Band (James P. Ancona, conductor) – 1 December 2022

Works for Winds by This Composer