No Greater Joy

From Wind Repertory Project
Ryan Nowlin

Ryan Nowlin

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 6:45
Difficulty: III-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Neil A. Kjos Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $70.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Electric Bass
Piano (rehearsal)
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

A joyous tone is set from the start by a brilliant echoing fanfare. Then two contrasting melodic ideas create the foundation for this intermediate band composition. A festive dance comes first, bubbling with a rhythmic lilt, which is then followed by solemn, more reverent material featuring a flugelhorn or trumpet solo. The dance theme returns to finish with a stylish flourish.

- Program Note from publisher

This dedicatory work begins with a short opening fanfare that is marked “Joyfully.” Next, a dance-like theme that is first played by the flutes, oboes, and first clarinets is introduced, marked “Festive.” This thematic material is prepared by a percussion ostinato played by timpani, bells, vibraphone, and triangle. A slower, more legato cantabile second theme follows. It is first played by horns along with solo trumpet or optional solo flugelhorn. This theme is based upon three descending pitches: mi-re-do. Following transitional material that features solo flute, the first theme returns and partners with the second theme to create a resounding and satisfying finale

- Program Note from The Instrumentalist


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Kent State (Ohio) Symphony Band (John Franklin, conductor) – 27 September 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist 73.7 (Feb. 2019): 26. Print.
  • Perusal score