New Millennium, Different World, New Beginnings

From Wind Repertory Project
Roger Cichy

Roger Cichy

General Info

Year: 2004
Duration: c. 11:15
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $140.00   |   Score Only (print) - $40.00


1. New Millennium – 4:20
2. Different World – 3:40
3. New Beginnings – 4:25


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II (I doubling English horn)
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Claves
  • Concert Toms (4)
  • Conga
  • Cowbell (small)
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Devil Teaser
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Guiro
  • Hand Drum (large)
  • Maracas
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Shaker (small)
  • Slapstick
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Timbales
  • Triangles (2, with water bowls)
  • Vibraphone
  • Vibra-slap
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

New Millennium, Different World, New Beginnings is designed to be a musical timepiece reflecting significant events of the beginning of the twenty-first century. The opening movement, New Millennium, begins with an exploding brass and percussion fanfare symbolizing a new time in modern history. The music evokes the awe and magnitude of a new era as the year 2000 arrives in sequential order from time zone to time zone and celebration to celebration. The rumble of the percussion suggests the images of the spectacular fireworks displays that lit up the skies of many major cities worldwide. The second half of the movement paints a mosaic of celebrations. This section of the movement also develops into a ritual-like celebration as various cultures celebrate, in their own way, the beginning of a new millennium.

The second movement, Different World, is a sobering look at the emotions and images of the aftermath of September 11, 2001, a day that created, in many people's minds, a different world. The most compelling scenes of post 9/11 to the composer were that of family members and friends frantically searching for loved ones only to have their hopes diminish day by day. For many, the long search ended in the painful realization that their loved one had perished in this horrible tragedy. The middle section of this movement includes a meditative melody the composer uses as a hymn reflecting faded hope. The emotion of the music eventually portrays a section of anger which, in turn, is rotated into a meditative prayer for the victims who have died and a hope for greater peace in this world.

Despite human tragedy, humankind has always looked ahead for hope in the idea this world can be made better. The final movement, New Beginnings, reflects the acts of goodwill and generosity that, in their own individual ways, can and will have a positive impact on modern society. It is through these acts of munificence that we, as a prosperous people, can make a significant difference and provide a better life for the sake of all humankind. It is never too late for new beginnings from one generation of humankind to the next.

In particular, this movement is a celebration of the generosity and goodwill of Donna and Marvin Schwartz, who have given unselfishly of themselves to create a new beginning for Emory University in the form of a new performing arts center. Composer Roger Cichy has incorporated the word-rhythm "Don-na and Mar-vin Schwartz" (a seven-syllable grouping) as the underlying nucleus throughout this movement. The beginning section of this movement highlights a melody based on a 7/8 meter. Further in the piece, the meter changes to 7/4 (still incorporating the rhythmic pulse of seven) and fuses a variety of cultural musical styles to create a sort of collage of cultural dynamics.

- Program Note by composer

Commissioned by the Emory University Wind Ensemble, Scott A. Stewart, Director.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Cichy, R. (2004). New Millennium, Different World, New Beginnings [score]. C. Alan Publications: Greensboro, N.C.
  • Perusal score
  • Roger Cichy website Accessed 3 January 2022