New Frontiers

From Wind Repertory Project

Aaron Blakely (b. 1995)

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 6:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $95.00; (digital) - $95.00   |   Score Only (print) - $12.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This new concert overture by young composer Aaron Blakely is reminiscent of the great Western movie score genre. It has the bold open intervals of the American sound made famous by Aaron Copland along with a very memorable melody and driving rhythms. The main theme of the piece is contrasted by a lush and lyrical middle section that builds to a wonderful climax before the return of the driving main theme.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • "New Music Reviews." The Instrumentalist 71.2 (2016): 35. Print
  • Perusal score