Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Near Woodstock Town

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Percy Aldridge Grainger

Percy Aldridge Grainger (arr. Ray E Cramer)

General Info

Year: 1903 / 2004
Duration: c. 2:35
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Voice and piano
Publisher: Southern Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $50.00   |   Score Only (print) - $5.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Soprano Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-alto Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Flugelhorn I-II
B-flat Cornet
Tenor Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Chimes
  • Suspended Cymbal


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This English tune is listed as a melody from the 17th century. It was a broadside ballad of that era. Variants and alternate titles include Love Has Brought Me To Despair and The Auxville Love. It was arranged by Percy Grainger for mixed voice and piano, and subsequently by Ray Cramer for wind ensemble.

- Program Note from Contemplator


State Ratings

  • Texas: III. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works