Nathan Hale Trilogy

From Wind Repertory Project
James Curnow

James Curnow

General Info

Year: 1990
Duration: c. 5:50
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Hal Leonard Corporation
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $60.00; (digital) - $60.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.50


1. Intrada
2. Intermezzo
3. The Rangers


Full Score
C Piccolo
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Field Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This work was inspired by the legendary American patriot and hero of the Revolutionary War. Movements include: Intrada, Intermezzo and The Rangers.

- Program Note from publisher

The composition was written to commemorate an important martyr and soldier of the American Revolution and one of America's best remembers heroes. Nathan Hale is recognized as a warrior, a military leader and a patriot. Born in Coventry, Conn., in 1755, he received his formal education at Yale University where he studied to become a teacher. As war broke out in the American colonies, Hale joined a Connecticut regiment and fought in the Siege of Boston. He volunteered to cross the British lines to gather intelligence. He was discovered, captured by the British and hanged for espionage.

The triptych represents three important places or events in Nathan Hale's life. The first movement, Intrada, depicts the occasion of his lieutenant's commission by the Connecticutt assembly in July 1775 and his service as a member of the America militia (later known as the continental Army) in the eleven-month Siege of Boston from April 1775 to March 1776. The second movement, Intermezzo, represents Halesite, the monument marking the place of his capture and death at the Huntington Harbor on Long Island, N.Y. It was on this site that Hale delivered the speech that concluded with the words that have inspired Americans for generations, "I only regret I have but one life to lose for my country."

The third movement, The Rangers, is in reference to the small fighting group of which Hale was a member. This group of soldier was particularly respected for its skill and leadership in dangerous missions.

- Program Note from Teaching Music through Performance in Band


State Ratings

  • Alabama: Class C


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Curnow, J. (1990). Nathan Hale Trilogy [score]. MusicWorks: Milwaukee, Wisc.
  • Lance, Elva Kaye. "Nathan Hale Trilogy." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 10, Compiled and edited by Richard Miles, 271-279. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2015.