Music for the Royal Fireworks (ed Rodenmacher)

From Wind Repertory Project
George Frideric Handel

George Frideric Handel (trans. Luc Rodenmacher)

General Info

Year: 1749 /
Duration: c. 14:40
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Rodluc Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $179.50; (digital) - $179.50   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00


1. Overture
3. Bouree
2. La Paix (The Peace)
4. La Rejoissance (The Joy)
5. Menuet I
6. Menuet II


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Steel Drums


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Written for an outdoor performance in 1749, Handel's Music for the Royal Fireworks exemplifies early Classical conventions of notation. Unless the edition used includes modern annotations, performers must possess an understanding of Classical performance practices, including the interpretation of dotted rhythms, trills, and articulation styles. Even if the edition is updated, the conductor and performers should invest research into appropriate practices of similar works from this era to promote a thorough understanding of proper musical style.

- Notes from Great Music for Wind Band


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Portsmouth (Ohio) Wind Symphony (John Christian, conductor) - 13 October 2022

Works for Winds by this Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works